Health IT and Electronic Health Activate your FREE membership today |  Log-in

Meaningful Health Care Informatics Blog

Aug 1 2010   10:19PM GMT

Published Meaningful Use and Certification program

Posted by: RedaChouffani

On July 28th,  two of the most anticipated federal rules meaningful use and certification ruling have been trimmed down and published.   After careful review of the final ruling, many of criteria seem to have changed but eligible physicians, and payment structure remains the same.

January 2011 will be the date that all programs will begin. And vendors are no longer required to have the certification prior to the start of the Stage 1 of meaningful use. A list published in a presentation from CMS summarized the changes from the NPRM to the final rule of the CMS incentive program in the following areas:

Hospital-based Eps
Meaningful use objectives
Medicaid acute care hospitals
Medicaid patient volume
Medicaid programs can start in 2011
More clarification throughout

Eligible physicians for Medicare Incentive program are:

Eligible Professionals (EPs)
Doctor of Medicine or Osteopathy
Doctor of Dental Surgery or Dental Medicine
Doctor of Podiatric Medicine
Doctor of Optometry
Eligible Hospitals
AcuteCare Hospitals*
Critical Access Hospitals (CAHs)

As Eligible physicians for Medicaid Incentive program are:

Eligible Professionals (EPs)
Nurse Practitioners (NPs)
Certified Nurse-Midwives (CNMs)
Physician Assistants (PAs) working in a Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) or rural health clinic (RHC) that is so led by a PA
Eligible Hospitals
Acute Care Hospitals

More information can be found at the following presentation:

Comment on this Post

Leave a comment:

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to: