Health IT and Electronic Health Activate your FREE membership today |  Log-in

Meaningful Health Care Informatics Blog

Jan 8 2012   8:05PM GMT

CMS releases final notice for initial 26 quality measures

Posted by: RedaChouffani
Affordable Care Act, AHRQ, CMS, Core measures, EHR, Meaningful use, Quality reporting

On Jan. 4, 2012, the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) released the final notice for the initial core set of health care quality measures for Medicaid-eligible adults, a requirement from Section 2701 of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010 (PPACA).

There are 26 quality measures included in the list, which the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS partnered with the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) to identify.The categories listed in the document include the following:

  • Prevention & Health Promotion
  • Management of Acute Conditions
  • Management of Chronic Conditions
  • Family Experiences of Care
  • Care Coordination
  • Availability

CMS will soon issue guidance for how to submit the initial core set to CMS in a standardized format. As the current reporting of quality measures is voluntary and not set to begin until December 2013, many of the states that will collect these initial measures will use a temporary reporting template to submit their data.

Comment on this Post

Leave a comment:

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to: