Health IT and Electronic Health Activate your FREE membership today |  Log-in

Community Blog

Oct 6 2010   3:08PM GMT

REC Resource Chart: The “Who’s Who” in Regional Extension Centers



Posted by: Jenny Laurello
ARRA, HITECH, REC

Updated- 10/6/10

As part of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA), signed into law in February of 2009, President Obama enacted the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health Act (HITECH Act). The primary goal of the HITECH Act is to advance the adoption and meaningful use of health information technology and health data exchange, with the overarching objective being to expand the continuum of care, improve patient outcomes and overall drive quality of care up, and cost of care down.

Also included in the HITECH Act is the Health Information Technology Extension Program, which established the creation of Regional Extension Centers (RECs), designed to successfully move providers though the process of electronic health record (EHR) selection, installation, implementation and adoption. The main function of each REC is to provide both education and technical assistance to providers in specific geographic areas to accelerate health IT adoption and enable meaningful use of EHR systems.

To find the REC serving your area, please refer to the alphabetized list below:*

REC NAME: CONTACT INFORMATION:
Alabama Regional Extension Center TRP III Suite 1100, 307 North University Boulevard, Mobile, AL, 36688251-414-8170

http://www.al-rec.org/contact

(251)460-6333 Russ Lea – awards@usouthal.edu

Alaska eHealth Network PMB 1143, 2440 East Tudor Road, Anchorage, AK, 99507
(907) 729-3934 Rebecca Madison – rebecca@ak-ehealth.org
Arizona Health-e Connection 810 W. Bethany Home Road, Phoenix, AZ, 85013(602) 288-5130 Melissa Rutala – melissa.rutala@azhec.org
Arkansas Foundation For Medical Care- HIT Arkansas 401 West Capitol Ave, Little Rock, AR, 72201
(501) 212-8636hitarkansas@afmc.org

Johnathan Fuchs – jfuchs@afmc.org

California – Local Initiative Health Authority for Los Angeles County 555 West 5th Street, 29th Floor, Los Angeles, CA, 90013
(213) 694-1250 x 4347Sajid Ahmed – sahmed@lacare.org
CalHIPSO (North & South) 555 12th St, 10th Floor, Oakland, CA 94607Phone: 510-285-5723
Toll Free: 888-589-4897

info@calhipso.org This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

(510) 285-5723 Speranza Avram – speranza@calhipso.org

CalOptima 1120 West La Veta Avenue, Suite 200
Orange, CA 92868General: 1-714-246-8500

Toll-Free: 1-888-587-8088

emoscaritolo@caloptima.org

Colorado Regional Extension Center (CORHIO)  3773 Cherry Creek N., Suite 615, Denver, CO 80209

720.285.3200

info@corhio.org
Phyllis M. Albrritton – palbritton@corhio.org

Connecticut- eHealth Connecticut 1111 Cromwell Ave, Suite 201, Rocky Hill, CT , 06067(860) 240-5617
Scott Cleary – scleary@gosmcpartners.com

(860) 240-5656

Delaware – Quality Insights of Delaware, Inc. 3411 Silverside Road, Baynard Building, Suite 100, Wilmington, DE, 19810
(304) 346-9864 x 2228 Kathleen Merrill – kmerrill@wvmi.org
District of Columbia Primary Care Association (DCPCA) 1411 K Street NW, Washington, DC, 20005
(202) 638-0252 Donna Ramos-Johnson – dramosjohnson@dcpca.org
   
Florida -Rural and North Florida Regional Extension Center 140 Fountain Parkway Suite 210, St. Petersburg, FL, 33716
(727) 573-2422Diane Gaddis – diane@chcalliance.org

Walt.Culbertson@advancehealthIT.org

Florida – Health Choice Network, Inc. 9064 NW 13 Terrace, Miami, FL, 33172
(305) 599-1015 Kevin Kearns – kkearns@hcnetwork.org
Florida – University of Central Florida 12201 Research Parkway, Suite 501, Orlando, FL, 32826
(407)823-4071 Jeanette Schreiber – jschreib@mail.ucf.edu
Florida- PaperFree Florida- USFHealth 12901 Bruce B. Downs Blvd.
Tampa, Florida 33612Cheryl Lesko- clesko@health.usf.edu

rrobinso@research.usf.edu

Florida- South Florida Regional Extension Center 9064 NW 13 Terrace, Miama, FL, 33172305 471 8710, ext 8281

lrawlins@southfloridarec.org

Georgia – Morehouse School of Medicine 720 Westview Drive, Atlanta, GA, 30310
(404) 756-8960 Dominic Mack M.D. – dmack@msm.edu
Hawaii Health Information Exchange 345 Queen Street, Suite 601, Honolulu, HI, 96813
(808)791-7830 Christine Sakuda – csakuda@hawaiipca.netinfo@hhie.org
HealthBridge, Inc (select areas in KY, OH and IN) 11300 Cornell Park Drive, Suite 360 Cincinnati, Ohio  45242 

(513) 469-7222 x4 

  (513) 469-7230 

info@healthbridge.org

tmatthews@healthbridge.org

Illinois – Northern Illinois University Northern Illinois University, Regional Development Institute, 301 Lowden Hall, DeKalb, IL, 60115
(815) 753-0936John Lewis – jlewis@niu.edu

   Joan Laurino – info@ILHITREC.org

   (815)753-1136

Illinois- Chicago Health Information Technology Regional Extension Center (CHITREC) 750 N. Lake Shore Drive, 9th Floor
Chicago, Illinois 60611
312.503.2986 – main
312.503.6743 – fax
info@chitrec.org
Indiana – Purdue University 155 S. Grant St., West Lafayette, IN, 47907
(765) 494-9095Vic Lechtenberg – vll@purdue.edu
Iowa Foundation for Medical Care (IFMC) 1776 West Lakes Parkway, West Des Moines, IA, 50266800-373-2964
FAX (515) 222-2411

IowaHITREC@ifmc.org
Susan Harr – sharr@ifmc.org

(515) 440-8215

Kansas Foundation for Medical Care, Inc. (KFMC) 2947 SW Wanamaker Drive, Topeka, KS, 66614(800) 432-0770

dgarwood@kfmc.org

Kentucky – University of Kentucky Research Foundation 109 Kinkead Hall, Lexington, KY, 40536
(859)257-9420Deborah Davis – ospa@email.uky.edu
Louisiana Health Care Quality Forum 304 Laurel Street, Suite 2D, Baton Rouge, LA , 70801
(225)334-9299Jenny Smith – jsmith@lhcqf.org

bikerd@lhcqf.org

Maine – HealthInfoNet 125 Presumpscot Street, Box 8
Portland, Maine 04103info@hinfonet.org
(207) 430-0688 Devore Culver – dculver@hinfonet.org
Maryland – Chesapeake Regional Information System for our Patients 5525 Research Park Drive
Catonsville, MD 21228(410) 402-9211

david.finney@crisphealth.org

General inquiries: info@crisphealth.org

REC@crisphealth.org

Massachusetts eHealth Initiative (MeHI)  860 Winter Street
Waltham, MA 02451-1411
Contact: Jeff Loughlin
Telephone: (781) 434-7751

  cmatarazzo@maehc.org

  Massachusetts: contact@maehc.org 

New Hampshire: nh-rec@maehc.org

Massachusetts – MA Technology Corporation 75 North Drive, Westborough, MA , 01581
(617) 371-3999 X 233 Richard F Shoup, PhD – shoup@masstech.org
Michigan – M-CEITA 3520 Green Ct #300, Ann Arbor, MI, 48105
1-888-MICH-EHRmceita.info@altarum.org

Dan Armijo – dan.armijo@altarum.org

Minnesota Regional Extension Assistance Center for HIT- Key Health Alliance 2901 Metro Drive, Suite 400, Bloomington, MN, 55425info@khareach.org

(877) 331-8783 ext. 222

Sue Severson – sseverson@stratishealth.org

(952) 853-8538

Mississippi Regional Extension Center for Health Information Technology    175 E. Capitol St.,
   Suite 250,
   Jackson, MS 39201
   601-352-6353   rbordelon@eqhs.org
Missouri HIT Assistance Center  877-882-9933

http://assistancecenter.missouri.edu/FAQ.php

Morehouse School of Medicine 720 Westview Drive SW Atlanta, GA 30310-1495dmack@msm.edu
Montana – Mountain-Pacific Quality Health Foundation 3404 Cooney Drive, Helena, MT, 59602
(406) 443-4020Janice Conners – jconnors@mpqhf.org 

(406) 457-5814

ryearry@mpqhf.org

National Indian Health Board  926 Pennsylvania Avenue, SE, Washington, DC, 20003
(202)507-4070Stacy Bohlen – sbohlen@nihb.org  
Nebraska – CIMRO Nebraska 1230 “O” Street, Suite 120, Lincoln, NE, 68508
402-476-1399Greg Schieke – gschieke@negio.sdps.org

(402) 476-1399 X 514

Nebraska- Wide River
  1230 O Street, Suite 120; Lincoln, NE  68508 (402) 476-1700

 gschieke@widerivertec.org

New Jersey Institute of Technology University Heights, 378 Fenster Hall, Newark, NJ, 07102
(973) 596-5275Norma Rubio – srard@njit.edu

Sebastian@njit.edu

New Mexico – LCF Research LCF Research 2309 Renard Place SE, Suite #103, Albuquerque, NM, 87106
(505)935-9903 Robert E White – Bob.White@LCFresearch.org
New York eHealth Collaborative (NYeC) 220 Church Street , 5th Floor, New York, NY, 10013
(646) 619-6726Alex Low – alow@nyehealth.org

pwilder@nyehealth.org

New York -NYC Reach 161 William St. 5th Floor
New York, NY 10038
pcip@health.nyc.gov
(212) 788-5711Amanda Parsons – aparsons@health.nyc.gov

(212) 788-5534

North Carolina – University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 145 N. Medical Drive, Campus Box 7165, Chapel Hill, NC, 27599
(919) 966-8961Thomas J Bacon – tom_bacon@med.unc.edu
Ohio – Greater Cincinnati Health Bridge Inc. 11300 Cornell Park Drive, Cincinnati, OH, 45242
(513) 247-52660 Trudi Matthews – tmatthews@healthbridge.org
Ohio Health Information Partnership (OHIP) 3455 Mill Run Drive Suite 315, Hilliard, OH 43026
(614) 664-2600Amy Andres – amy.andres@ins.state.oh.us
Oklahoma Foundation for Medical Quality 14000 Quail Springs Parkway, Suite 400, Oklahoma City, OK, 73134
405-840-2891Daniel Golder – Dgolder@ofmq.com
Oregon – O-Hitec 707 SW Washington Street, Portland, OR, 97205
(503.943.2617info@o-hitec.org
Pennsylvania – Quality Insights of Pennsylvania, Inc. (Central, Eastern & Western)   (304)346-9864 x 2228

 Kathleen Merrill – kmerrill@wvmi.org

 

    Central Region:
    2601 Market Place Street, Suite 320
    Harrisburg, PA 17110
    Eastern Region:
    630 Freedom Business Center, Suite 116
    King of Prussia, PA 19406
    Western Region
    Penn Center West
    Building II, Suite 220
    Pittsburgh, PA 15276

Puerto Rico – Ponce School of Medicine 388 Zona Industrial Reparada 2, Ponce, PR, 00716
(787) 840-2575 x2119Joxel Garcia Garcia – jgarcia@psm.edu
Rhode Island Quality Institute 275 Promenade Street, Suite 225, Mail Stop 23, Providence, RI, 02908
(401) 276-9141Gary Christensen- gchristensen@riqi.org
South Carolina Research Foundation 1320 Main Street
Suite 625
Columbia, SC  29201803.544.HSSC

thornbur@mailbox.sc.edu

South Dakota – Dakota State University 820 North Washington St, Madison, SD 57042
(605)256-5555Daniel Friedrich – dan.friedrich@dsu.edu

amy.townsend@dsu.edu

Tennessee – Qsource 3175 Lenox Park Blvd. Suite 309, Memphis, TN, 38115
(901) 273-2635Jennifer McAnally – jmcanally@qsource.org
Texas- CentrEast Regional Extension Center Metro Centre
3833 Texas Avenue, Suite 150
Bryan, Texas 77802centreastrec@tamhsc.edu

866.514.8595

Texas – North Texas REC 250 Decker Drive, Irving, TX, 75062
(972) 719-4900malverson@ntrec.org
Texas – University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston P. O. Box 20036, Houston, TX, 77225
(713)500-3999kim.dunn@uth.tmc.edu
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center 3601 4th Street, MS 6271, Lubbock, TX, 79430
(806)743-4569Victoria Rivera – victoria.rivera@ttuhsc.edu

kim.dunn@uth.tmc.edu

Utah and Nevada – HealthInsight Corporate/Utah Office-Salt Lake City:
348 East 4500 South, Suite 300
Salt Lake City, Utah 84107
Phone: 801-892-0155
Fax: 801-892-0160 

Nevada Office-Las Vegas:
6830 W. Oquendo Road, Suite 102
Las Vegas, NV 89118
Phone: 702-385-9933

Sharon Donnelly – sdonnelly@healthinsight.org

Vermont Information Technology Leaders 144 Main Street Suite 1, Montpelier, VT, 05602
(802) 223-4100 X 103Paul Forlenza – pforlenza@vitl.net
Virginia – VHQC (Virginia Health Quality Center) 9830 Mayland Drive, Suite J, Richmond, VA, 23233
(804) 289-5320  Cathy Zager – czager@vhqc.org
Washington and Idaho- WIREC- Qualis Health 10700 Meridian Ave North, Suite 100, Seattle, WA, 98133
(206)288-2471Peggy Evans – peggye@qualishealth.org
West Virginia Health Improvement Institute, Inc P.O. Box 1782 | Charleston, WV 25326
(301) 529-7858Roger Chaufournier – rchaufournier@spreadinnovation.com
Wisconsin – MetaStar, Inc. 2909 Landmark Place, Madison, WI, 53713
608-729-2700 or 866-710-4212Jesi Wang – jwang@metastar.com

*You can learn more about the the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology’s Extension Program here.

Comment on this Post

Leave a comment:

Beastwood  |   Sep 28, 2010  2:16 PM (GMT)

HHS has announced awards for two new RECs and an expanded service area for two Florida-based RECs. Additional information is available [A href=”http://www.hhs.gov/news/press/2010pres/09/20100928a.html”]here[/A].


 

Forgot Password

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an e-mail containing your password.

Your password has been sent to: