meaningful use stage 3

Meaningful use stage 3 is the third phase of the meaningful use incentive program which details the third section of requirements for the use of electronic health record (EHR) systems by hospitals and eligible health care professionals.

Along with meaningful use stage 1 and meaningful use stage 2, the third list of criteria and regulations is being established by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) and the Office of the National Coordinator for Health IT (ONC).

While the process of establishing criteria is in progress for stage 2, stage 3 remains more of a mystery, as only a handful of criteria have been proposed. Meaningful use stage 3 is likely to follow the same format as its predecessors, with a divide between core (mandatory) and menu (optional) requirements, continuations of stage 1 and stage 2 requirements and addition of some new requirements.

The commencement of meaningful use stage 3 will be announced at a later date.

This was last updated in February 2012

Continue Reading About meaningful use stage 3

Dig Deeper on HITECH Act and meaningful use requirements



Find more PRO+ content and other member only offers, here.


File Extensions and File Formats

Powered by:






  • Dissecting the Hack

    In this excerpt from chapter three of Dissecting the Hack: The V3RB0TEN Network, authors Jayson E. Street, Kristin Sims and Brian...

  • Digital Identity Management

    In this excerpt of Digital Identity Management, authors Maryline Laurent and Samia Bousefrane discuss principles of biometrics ...

  • Becoming a Global Chief Security Executive Officer

    In this excerpt of Becoming a Global Chief Security Executive Officer: A How to Guide for Next Generation Security Leaders, ...