HIT standards committee

The Health Information Technology (HIT) standards committee is a federal committee created by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA) that advises the Office of the National Coordinator for Health IT (ONC) on matters of standards, certification criteria and other issues surrounding electronic health records (EHRs) and meaningful use. This committee focuses heavily on the policies developed by the health information technology (HIT) policy committee.

The committee is made up of a variety of qualified health care players, including providers, health care workers, consumers, technology vendors, researchers and other individuals with technical expertise. There are multiple subcommittees that each work on a specific issue within health care

• Clinical Operations: advises HIT standards community regarding EHRs

• Clinical Quality: makes recommendations on specific quality measures in meaningful use.

• Privacy & Security: deals with privacy and security in meaningful use

• Implementation: focuses on “real world” implementation techniques

• Vocabulary Task Force: identifies and fills need for clinical and administrative vocabulary in health care bills.

See also: HIPPA

Read more about HIT Standards Committee:

The HIT standards committee official government website



This was last updated in February 2011
Posted by: Margaret Rouse

Email Alerts

Register now to receive news, tips and more, delivered to your inbox.
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy

More News and Tutorials

Do you have something to add to this definition? Let us know.

Send your comments to

Join the conversation Comment



    Contribute to the conversation

    All fields are required. Comments will appear at the bottom of the article.